The Heat Pump KEYMARK is a voluntary, independent, European certification mark (ISO type 5 certification) for all heat pumps, combination heat pumps and hot water heaters (as covered by Ecodesign, EU Regulation 813/2013 and 814/2013).

It is based on independent, third-party testing and demonstrates compliance with product requirements as set in the Heat Pump KEYMARK scheme rules and with efficiency requirements as set by Ecodesign. It is aimed at certifying the product performances declared by the manufacturers.

The Heat Pump KEYMARK is a full certificate supporting the quality of heat pumps in the European market. It has been developed by the heat pump industry in 2015 but it is owned by the European Committee for standardization (CEN). The certificates are granted by independent certification bodies to products fulfilling all requirements of the scheme.

The scheme is open to all certification bodies in Europe. Manufacturers interested in obtaining the certification should apply with one of the certification bodies listed here.


Main characteristics

  • A single certificate open to all interested parties
  • Third party measurements using test points from Ecodesign (EU regulations 206/2012, 813/2013 and 814/2013)
  • Factory production control and check of quality managment
  • Transparent and strong to create trust in the market place
  • Mutually accepted by all participating certification bodies
  • No minimal requirements (indirectly, due to Ecodesign, minimum requirements will apply on eta s, noise)
  • Transition period for different existing schemes


The Heat Pump KEYMARK flyer is available here.


Which products can be certified:

  • Heat pump space heaters providing heat to water based central heating systems for space heating purposes
  • Heat pump combination heaters providing heat to water based central heating systems for space heating purposes and heat to deliver hot drinking and sanitary water.
  • Heat pump water heaters which are dedicated to  providing hot  drinking and  sanitary water
  • Thermal capacity up to 400kW
  • 2017: Extension to air/air heat pumps and air conditioners ≤ 12 kW
  • 2019: Extension to gas heat pumps, hybrid heat pumps and hybrid combination heat pumps
  • Future extension possible on industry request

-> complements self declaration as required by EU regulations 206/2012, 813/2013 and 814/2013